Staff & Trustees


“The most important people within our preschool, as far as your children are concerned are our members of staff, who are all dedicated and caring, with a wealth of experience.”





Sandra Morahan

Sandra is responsible for the day to day running of the preschool, she is our Deputy Child Protection Officer, Sandra has a MA Education in Childhood Studies and has Early Years Professional Status (EYPS). Sandra has 21 years’ experience in childcare and has two sons.

Helen Taylor-Hollis

Helen is the Assistant Manager and our Child Protection Officer. Helen is also our Early Language Lead Practitioner. Helen is NVQ3 qualified and has 25 years of experience in childcare and she has two daughters.

Demelza King

Demelza is the Senior Practitioner and our Special Educational Needs Coordinator; she has a PG Diploma in childcare and has Early Years Professional Status (EYPS). Demelza is also our student mentor for the preschool. Demelza has 11 years’ experience of working with children. Demelza has an active two year old little girl.

Vicky Willis

Vicky Willis is our Health and Safety Officer; she is qualified to the level of NVQ 3. Vicky has 10 years childcare experience.

Debbie Kasitz

Debbie Kasitz is NVQ 3 qualified. She is our Behavior Management Coordinator Debbie has 21 years childcare experience and has two boys. Debbie is a part time member of staff.

Gareth Hawcroft

Gareth has achieved his BA (Hons) Early Childhood studies with the University of Plymouth. He is our Deputy SENCO and he has 17 years’ experience in childcare. Gareth has four children, two in secondary and two in primary school

Leighan Shaw

Leighan is level 3 qualified and has 6 years’ experience in childcare. She has one daughter in primary school.

Keri Reynolds

Keri is level 4 and has 5  years experience in childcare. Keri has two children in primary school.

Professional Development

Staff will continue their professional development by attending regular additional training in their own field of expertise and general child care and education courses to keep up with current requirements and legislation. New members of staff receive induction training during their first week of employment, which includes our Health and Safety and Child Protection policies and procedures.

All members of staff are qualified in Paediatric First Aid, Manual Handling, Health and Safety and Food Hygiene. St Paul’s Preschool will ensure that the Manager or a Senior Practitioner is present during each session, supported by at least four other members of staff. We maintain high ratios of staff at each session. The minimum staff:child ratio is 1:6 for 3 year olds and 1:4 for under 3’s, our ratios are regularly higher than the minimum standards set by Ofsted. Unexpected staff absence due to illness or emergency is covered, by existing staff and in extreme circumstances Trustees or Long Term Adult Students.


St Paul’s Preschool is managed by Parent Trustees, it is therefore vital that enough parents become involved as without the Trustees, St Paul’s Preschool would have to close or be supported by the Preschool Learning Alliance until such time as volunteer parents could be recruited. The Trustees work in close co-operation with the Manager, Assistant Manager and staff and is responsible for reviewing policies, employing staff, fundraising and strategic decision-making. The Trustees are elected at an Annual General Meeting, held in November and members serve for a minimum of one year. More information can be obtained, in the first instance, from the Manager or Trustee Chairman.

The Trustees meet, on average, once per term and you can arrange to observe if you wish to get a better understanding of its role. Even if you are unable to join the Trustees, there are plenty of opportunities throughout the year for you to help with fundraising. The money raised is often used to buy new toys and much needed equipment for the children and to subsidise outings.

The Preschool Parent Trustees Members are:

Caroline Pascoe – Chairman

Sandra Stroud – Treasurer

Lorraine Bruford – Secretary

Any member of the committee can be contacted via the Preschool.